Score 7.3

In a nutshell: After having the ‘Trilogy in Four Parts’ for years, I finally got round to reading the Guide. Douglas Adams smashes it out of the galactic park; both hilarious and thoughtful. This adventure takes you places you’d never have imagined before, in a novel and amusing way. You’ll read about Arthur Dent, regular Earth man, hitchhiking with his friend on a spaceship in a bid to avoid the destruction of his planet. From there, Arthur seeks to make sense of why his planet has been destroyed, and what it was there for in the first place!


I’ve had The Guide: A Trilogy in Four Parts’ for a few years now but only realised recently that although I’d seen the movie, I’d never actually read the original by Douglas Adams (nor the subsequent stories in the series). In the last week I’ve both read the book and re-watched the film. Both in my opinion are brilliant, although I can see why some fans are unhappy with the movie; it’s not a strictly faithful representation of the first book, dipping into future stories in the series for added material.

Having said that, reading a little around Douglas Adams’ works it seems the essence of the whole series is mix-up and miss-match, so in a way the fact that the movie draws from a few sources to write one cohesive film is Douglas Adams style down to a T. I’ve started now on the Restaurant at the End of the Universe and can already notice some parts utilized for the Guide movie, but it makes sense to me; it’s mostly padding that seems to be taken.

The Guide Movie, showing Zaphod, Humma, Arthur, Marvin, Ford and Tricia

I agree there are quite big differences in the appearance and behaviour of the supposed pan-dimensional beings (that appear as mice on Earth); In the book they’re much more sincere, and the huge computer they’ve built is in a very neat, organised and plush office. There’s also no detour to Viltvodle VI in the book, or subsequent Zaphod head removal and journey for the Point-of-view gun. To me though these fit in well and were a welcome addition to make the movie it’s own.

From previous experience I know if I read the books first and then watch the movies, I’m much less inclined to appreciate the movie, constantly comparing it to the book. So, maybe it’s that. I watched the movie first and I like it.

Douglas Adams with the Guide

The story in the Guide is light-hearted and funny, despite Arthur Dent coming to terms with his home planet (Earth) being destroyed whilst trying to get to know the love of his life, Tricia McMillan (Trillian), at the same time flying around with Zaphod Beeblebrox and his stolen Heart of Gold, with Ford Prefect, Arthur’s friend, altogether simultaneously looking for the ultimate question to Life, The Universe and Everything.

It’s difficult to convey just how outright bizarre and creative the story is, but I assure you it is one of the most creative pieces you’ll read in a long time. The magic comes when you consider the ideas being flung left, right and centre, and start to realise the serious thought behind a lot of them. For instance, perhaps humanities better ambition rather than finding the meaning of life, is to try to understand really what it is that means most to them, and what the question is they really want answered. The answer itself may be very simple (not sure as simple as 42 but there you go).

A great read on my road of Douglas Adams’ works. Now I’m stuck into the next (Restaurant) I’m glued in to see what happens!